Before the Stamp

The postal system started in around 3000-2000 BCE in Cappadocia (Ancient Turkey), (we know this from various references in the Bible) using clay tablets to write letters, covering them in a protective envelope, much like we to these days. However, the system of paying for these letters was not a good one, having the senders of the mail paying nothing, and the recipients having to pay to receive the mail, before opening the letter, being like when someone hasn’t paid full postage when sending.

To be updated


Credits: Picture from the Trustees of the British Museum (not edited)
B07AB202-EC9E-435E-A535-B2AD628B9172

2 thoughts on “Before the Stamp

  1. I was suggested this website by my cousin. I am not sure whether this post is written by him as no one else know such detailed about my trouble. You’re incredible! Thanks!

    Like

  2. Good post. I learn something tougher on different blogs everyday. It is going to all the time be stimulating to read content from different writers and apply a little bit one thing from their store. I’d choose to make use of some with the content on my weblog whether you don’t mind. Natually I’ll provide you with a hyperlink in your web blog. Thanks for sharing.

    Like

Leave a comment